Convicted Criminals as Members of the Indian Parliament

Is this the much tom-tommed Indian democracy? The convicted 6 who may decide UPA’s fate:

Among those who hold the key to the survival or fall of the government on July 22 are six jailed MPs, some convicted on serious charges like murder, others accused of heinous crimes. Check out the men who both sides are seeking to woo to win that day.

  1. Pappu Yadav alias Rajesh Ranjan

    RJD, Purnea, Bihar

    SENTENCED in Feb 2008 for life for murder of former CPM MLA Ajit Sarkar in 1998.

  2. Suraj Bhan

    LJSP, Balia, Bihar

    SENTENCED To life last month for murder of a farmer in 1992.

  3. Ateeq Ahmad

    Phulphur, Uttar Pradesh

    Charged in: 21 criminal cases, including some involving murder. One such was the murder of Bhartiya Samajwadi Party MLA Raju Pal in 2005.

  4. Afzal Ansari

    Samajwadi Party, Ghazipur, UP

    Brother of Uttar Pradesh don Mukhtar Ansari. In jail facing charges in murder of Bhartiya Samajwadi Party MLA Krishanand Rai in 2005.

  5. Umakant Yadav

    BSP, Machhlishahr, Uttar Pradesh

    Jailed for allegedly razing shops and houses while trying to forcibly occupy land in Azamgarh in Uttar Pradesh in 2007.

  6. Mohd Shahabuddin

    RJD, Siwan, Bihar

    Convicted in: 3 cases between March and August 2007: life term for kidnapping leading to murder of a trader in 1999, 10 yrs for attack on Siwan SP in 1996 and 2 yrs for attack on CPI(ML) office in 1998.

I think it is a cargo cult democracy. I have long maintained that the Indian government is the real enemy of the people of India. This is not at all remarkable considering that it comprises mostly of criminals and other low life.